Alicia Rosenfeld

Story was recorded at the Covenant House on May 20, 2008, by Michael Naclerio.

When World War II started, the Army drafted my father. WWII ended in 1945, and I was 7 years old. One day, I was riding my tricycle, and, all of the sudden, people started yelling, “The War is over! The War is over!” And I was so excited, I started honking my little horn, and I remember thinking, “Oh yay! That means my daddy is coming home!”

My father was a Jewish man and a short man, so he took a lot of ribbing for being the short Jewish guy. They named him “Shorty” in the military. One thing I’ll always remember is how my father walked. He walked like he was 10 feet tall. He said, “Never put your head down. You have to have confidence.” But he took a lot of flak from those guys. Luckily, he was a tailor, so he did a lot of work for the big wigs in the Army. They’d ask him to shorten their pants and whatnot, so they took good care of him. But it was still very hard for him being a short Jew in the military during those times.

Leave a Reply

